Myths of Business Lie Underneath Our Decisions

There are a great many assumptions and conventional wisdom about business. There is an interesting critique on Strategy and Business by Betty Sue Flowers. She describes many of them as myths.

Myths?!

Stop for a moment and think about images you think of when you think about business? Some of us may think of the entrepreneur who started their business in their garage and goes on to create a company that dominates its industry. Or maybe the company that found a product serendipitously and became a household name. Gordon Gecko, a character in Wall Street is another image that comes to mind.

Myths are stories that explain a phenomenom about our world. They explain “why” and give us language when the concept is complex. They contain a message that has an important meaning. The archetypes and stories we tell about business are just as much myths as the stories told by ancient civilizations.

*Please join us Friday, December 7th at 5pm BST/12pm ET/9am PT for the Twitter chat, #KaizenBiz as we discuss “Myths of Business Lie Underneath Our Decisions”. Not sure how to participate? Please click here for tips and advice.

We don’t always pay attention to what’s underneath our choices Continue reading

Share